• Horror Community

    Horror Reviewer Directory

    Horror After Dark’s aim is to help our little community of horror people promote each other and share our love of all things dark. Below is an exhaustive list of active horror bloggers one of our crew members put together with the help of the horror community on Twitter. We hope you find it useful! This list includes writers, readers and bloggers of horror fiction only. These people will never charge you and if they do please let us know ASAP and they will be removed immediately. Please bookmark and share with all of your horror friendly people. This list will always be a work in progress. If you discover…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} NINTH HOUSE, by Leigh Bardugo

    Published by Flatiron Books Genres: Crime, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Mystery, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Hardcover The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo, a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League elite Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. In fact, by age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s…

  • Extra,  New Releases

    November New and Upcoming Releases in Horror #1

    Friday is here and so is our brand new list of newly released and upcoming releases in horror! If you are an author with a 2019 upcoming horror release that you’d like us to feature in these posts, please leave your book link in the comments! Reader additions are always welcome too. We want to include all the new horror. Also, please note publishing dates change constantly so please kindly note any changes in the comments. Available Now EVERY FOUL SPIRIT, by William Gorman So . . . what am I told? A familiar small town. A wrathful, metamorphic killer with supernatural abilities. A young girl whose time has come—angel of life,…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} SAWKILL GIRLS, by Claire Legrand

    Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Women Sleuths, Young Adult Format: Hardcover From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} RITUAL, by Steve Stred

    Published by Amazon Digital Services Genres: Dark Fiction, Fiction, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Psychological Horror, Suspense Format: eBook Meet Brad. A quiet, hardworking man who goes about his daily routine with joy.He works as a telemarketer, trying his best to sell poorly made, over-priced products to the unsuspecting people on the other end of the phone. Brad doesn’t mind though, it’s a means to an end. Life’s about to change for Brad. Now that Father has anointed him the Chosen one, the one to open the gates and allow them to flock into the Black Heavens. Eternity awaits. But is Brad ready to perform on the big day? “’Ritual’ is…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} SCAVENGER HUNT, by Michaelbrent Collings

    Published by Written Insomnia Press Genres: Crime, Dark Fiction, Fiction, Hard-Boiled, Horror, Psychological Horror, Thriller, Thrillers & Suspense Format: eARC “I already know all your names. As for me… you can call me Mr. Do-Good.”***Five strangers have woken up in a white room.  Apparently chosen at random, they have been kidnapped, drugged… and chosen to play the world’s most high-stakes scavenger hunt. Run by Mr. Do-Good, a madman who ides his identity behind a bloodstained smily-face mask, the contestants are given a series of deadly tasks to complete.  All they have to do to survive is… … complete every task…… on time..… and not break any of Do-Good’s rules. Breaking…