Book Reviews

Milestone: The Collected Stories by Kealan Patrick Burke

by Kealan Patrick Burke
Published by Elderlemon Press on April 5th, 2014
Genres: Horror, Supernatural
Pages: 183
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon

Somewhere out west there is a town called Milestone. You will not find it on any map. If you're lucky, you won't find it at all.

Once a thriving mining community, the few souls who still dwell there know nothing of hope and everything of damnation. Because Milestone may appear near-death, a ghost town in the making, but it is very much alive.

There are the stories of invisible barriers that open and close the borders on a whim, sometimes fatally, the whispers of a man in a top hat who comes cycling up out of the darkness of the abandoned mine to change the fate of the town, the buried music box that summons him, the people with unnatural powers, the old man who counts stacks of pennies and prays they never fall...and the fires that burn brightly with the sounds of screams.

Milestone is very much alive, and those unlucky souls trapped within its borders have little choice but to learn the true nature of their prison, or become its latest victim.

And even as they fight against the inevitable, the borders continue to expand.

Milestone is growing.

Included in the following book are the novellas “The Witch”, “Saturday Night at Eddie’s”, “Thirty Miles South of Dry County” and “The Palaver”

Welcome to Milestone…

Contained within this collection are four tales that are an excellent introduction to the only town in literature to out-weird the infamous burg of Oxrun Station. Each story is a mosaic puzzle piece, complete in and of itself, that changes the reader’s perceptions of it’s contents from whatever angle it is viewed, and once the collection is finished, and each piece fitted into place, the panorama of the whole offers a view of the enigma that is Milestone that conceals as much as it reveals.
Truly an astounding work of Dark Fiction, fueled by the despair and grim will to survive of the town’s inhabitants as the shadows move swallow them all.

Highest possible recommendation.

About Kealan Patrick Burke

Born and raised in a small harbor town in the south of Ireland, Kealan Patrick Burke knew from a very early age that he was going to be a horror writer. The combination of an ancient locale, a horror-loving mother, and a family full of storytellers, made it inevitable that he would end up telling stories for a living. Since those formative years, he has written five novels, over a hundred short stories, six collections, and edited four acclaimed anthologies. In 2004, he was honored with the Bram Stoker Award for his novella The Turtle Boy.

Kealan has worked as a waiter, a drama teacher, a mapmaker, a security guard, an assembly-line worker at Apple Computers, a salesman (for a day), a bartender, landscape gardener, vocalist in a rock band, curriculum content editor, fiction editor at, and, most recently, a fraud investigator.

When not writing, Kealan designs book covers through his company Elderlemon Design.

A number of his books have been optioned for film.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *