Book Reviews

{Review} THINGS SLIP THROUGH, by Kevin Lucia

{Review} THINGS SLIP THROUGH, by Kevin LuciaThings Slip Through by Kevin Lucia
Published by Crystal Lake Publishing on November 6, 2013
Genres: Dark Fiction, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Supernatural
Pages: 325
Format: Paperback
Buy on Amazon

When a child mysteriously disappears from a small town and even his mother seems indifferent, it’s time for the new sheriff to step in.

Meet Chris Baker, the new sheriff of the quiet Adirondack town of Clifton Heights. As one inexplicable case after another forces him to confront the townsfolk in The Skylark Diner, it’s the furtive Gavin Patchett that hands Chris a collection of not-so-fictional short stories that tumbles him into a world of monsters, ageless demons, and vengeful citizens.
As Chris reads through the stories the veil starts to lift, and he soon questions what is real and what’s not, and whether he really wants to know.
Nothing will ever be the same again.

So welcome to Clifton Heights, New York, an average Adirondack town, and nice enough in its own right. Except after dark, under the pale light of the moon. Or on a road out of town that never ends, or in an old house on the edge of town with a will of its own.

Maybe you shouldn't have left the interstate, my friend. But you saw our sign, turned down our road, figuring on a short stay. And maybe it will be.

Or maybe you'll never leave.

While you’re here, pay a visit to The Skylark Diner. Pull up a chair and I'll tell you about our town. It's nice enough, honestly. Except after dark. Or on cold winter days when you're all alone...

The Clifton Heights Saga include:
Book 2: Through a Mirror, Darkly
Book 3: Devourer of Souls
These collections are also stand-alone titles, and don't have to be read in order.

THINGS SLIP THROUGH (The Clifton Heights Saga Book 1), by Kevin Lucia, contains a series of interconnected events/stories all woven into a larger narrative.  The location is the small town of Clifton Heights, NY.  We have a group of friends, meeting for their usual Tuesday night card game:  Father Ward, teacher Gavin Patchett, “Fitzy” the town’s doctor, and Policeman Chris.  As an officer, Chris has seen some “unique” and inexplicable things in his one year of residency in Clifton Heights.  Sensing that his friends know much more about this, he decides to trust in their friendship and confront them about the nature of this town.

“. . . Truth.  It’s a precious commodity.  Especially between friends . . . The problem, however, lies in how much truth do we share? . . . “

It falls upon Gavin (also a writer) to meet Chris at the Skylark Diner.  There, he presents to his friend a journal that he keeps, chronicling the “unsolved” crimes and disappearances in Clifton Heights.

What I loved the most about this collection is not only how the stories are entwined within the framework of Chris and Gavin’s talk, but how many of the individual tales cross over into others, connecting them all as if with an invisible thread.  In Gavin’s own story, “Way Station”, he eludes to the town as:  “. . . An in-between place.  A crack between the worlds.  A way station, of sorts . . . a place where strange, unexplainable . . . often violent things happen.”

One of the most telling of the tales, in my opinion, is “The Sliding”, chronicling a young Ward, Gavin, and Fitzy trespassing in the local “haunted house”–Bassler House, a key focal point–along with all of Bassler Road–in many of these stories.

“. . . maybe there’s an opening or a rift on the quantum level . . . “

Other personal favorite tales of mine include, “On a Midnight Black Chessie”, “Lament”, and “A Brother’s Keeper”.  While these stories clearly define the town of Clifton Heights, along with the resignation and acceptance that its residents show, Chris will learn simply that he has been “called” to this town–a “Guardian” of some sort, without actually knowing what it is he’s being called to do.

“. . . Every decision creates ripples.  Every ripple changes things . . . “

An incredible collection that left me wanting to read more about this strange town and its inhabitants.  Lucia leaves off whetting the readers’ appetites for more.  Regarding Clifton Heights itself:  ” . . . As for haunted . . . Depends on your definition of the word.”

Highly recommended!

About Kevin Lucia

Kevin Lucia is the Reviews Editor for Cemetery Dance Magazine. His short fiction has appeared in several anthologies.

His first short story collection, Things Slip Through was published November 2013, followed by Devourer of Souls in June 2014 and Through A Mirror, Darkly, June 2015. His next books, Mystery Road and Things You Need are forthcoming in 2017-2018.

Visit Follow him at either or


I am an avid reader/reviewer and collector of books--primarily horror, supernatural, and supernatural-themed thrillers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *