{Review}  THE DEMONIC:  A Supernatural Horror Novel, by Lee Mountford
5
THE DEMONIC: A Supernatural Horror Novel by Lee Mountford on July 18, 2017 Genres: Alien, Dark Fiction, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal,... {Review}  THE DEMONIC:  A Supernatural Horror Novel, by Lee Mountford 5
{Review}  THE DEMONIC:  A Supernatural Horror Novel, by Lee MountfordTHE DEMONIC: A Supernatural Horror Novel by Lee Mountford
on July 18, 2017
Genres: Alien, Dark Fiction, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural
Pages: 254
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon

DANNI MORGAN THOUGHT SHE KNEW FEAR, BUT SHE IS ABOUT TO FIND OUT WHAT IT IS TO BE TRULY AFRAID

Years ago a young girl ran away from her childhood home and vowed never to go back. It was a place of fear, pain and misery at the hands of an abusive father.

But now Danni's father is dead and she is forced to break her vow and return home - to lay his body to rest and face up to the ghosts of her past.

But Danni is about to realise that some ghosts are more real than others. And something beyond her understanding is waiting for her there, lurking in the shadows. An evil that intends to kill her family and claim her very soul.

Experience supernatural horror in the vein of THE CONJURING, INSIDIOUS and the legendary GHOSTWATCH. THE DEMONIC will get under your skin, send chills down your spine and have you sleeping with the lights on!

***Visit www.leemountford.com for FREE horror stories***

THE DEMONIC: A Supernatural Horror Novel, is the first book I’ve read by author Lee Mountford. What an incredible introduction this was to his work! We start off with Danni Morgan, her husband Jon, and their two children, Leah and Alex. As they are traveling to Danni’s hometown of Bishop’s Hill–a place she ran away from due to her father’s horrific abuse–we learn that the purpose of the trip is to bury her hated father, and check out the homestead she inherited before putting it on the market. Both Jon and young Alex (who was born with Cerebral Palsy) have a scientific, logical approach to matters, whereas Danni and Leah are somewhat more “sensitive” in general.

“It is what it is.”

First of all, I found the atmosphere to be all-encompassing, at ALL times. Mountford begins by setting the mood with the feelings of each of the family members on the way to Bishop’s Hill. Danni is quite understandingly (as we are soon to learn) apprehensive and uneasy about the return. She makes it quite clear that she is only going there to see the man she ran from put in the ground–permanently. She wanted nothing more than to get through the ordeal and go home: “. . . Her real home, the one she had made for herself. Not this fading echo of one . . .”

Everything from the dying, sombre town, to the neglected, dusty farm home that is Danni’s inheritance, just combines to put the reader in a perpetual state of depressive unease. I even found myself jumping at noises in my own home while reading this! Accompanying this pervading feeling of dread is the constant sense of being watched by unseen eyes and half glimpsed shadows at all times.

“. . . We aren’t alone here.”

In terms of characterization, Mountford is–again–at the top of his game. We see and “feel” these characters as their moods shift, and their thoughts and feelings begin to alter to fit their surroundings. The one person to retain his stubborn decision to stay a few days is Jon, whereas the rest of the family are growing more frantic to leave each time they get out for a short respite.

“. . . There is something evil there. And it will kill you all . . . “

I can honestly say that this book took hold of me and never let up. Even when I was sure that the tension would have to relax momentarily, it didn’t. The entities inhabiting this cursed place continuously became more terrifying on a mental level as each page progressed.

“. . . He was trapped between two places: . . . a prision in life and in death, but also somewhere else. Somewhere worse . . . “

I simply can not do the overall oppressive “fear” that this novel evoked enough justice. Imagine your worst nightmare, and regardless of how hard you try to wake up, things only get more frantic and hopeless. These characters were ones I could feel–each rapid heartbeat, each moment of desperately wanting to escape the “nightmare” they found themselves in, became my universe for a while. The task they had come to complete became something that nobody could have foreseen.

“. . . Simply turning people and taking lives was not enough. Lives were finite. This was eternal . . . “

Overall, all of the elements that I look for in a good novel were present here at all turns. Lee Mountford has a very strong, fluid writing style that was able to captivate and carry me along right from the start. The atmosphere was so absolute that I honestly felt like I was in HIS reality during the course of this tale.

“Existing without really living.”

It’s been a long time since a novel actually scared me. THE DEMONIC did just that.

Highly recommended!

About Lee Mountford

Lee Mountford was born and raised in the North East of England, in the small town of Ferryhill. Not much happens there, but it has a surprisingly dark history.

He is an emerging author with a huge passion for horror, and has completed two horror novels: Horror in the Woods and The Demonic.

He still lives in in the North East of England with his amazing wife, Michelle. They are currently expecting their first child.

You can find him at:
Website: www.leemountford.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/LeeMountfordAuthor/
Twitter: @LeeMountford01

Go to his website to get two FREE 10K short stories.

Kimberly

Kimberly

I am an avid reader/reviewer of books--primarily horror, thriller, supernatural, and mystery.

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *