Book Reviews,  New Releases

{Review} DAMNED BY THE ANCIENTS (Nemesis of the Gods, Book 3)

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

{Review} DAMNED BY THE ANCIENTS (Nemesis of the Gods, Book 3)DAMNED BY THE ANCIENTS by Catherine Cavendish
Series: ,
Published by Lyrical Underground on October 23, 2018
Pages: 206
Format: eBook
Buy on Amazon


Vienna, 1908

Gabriele Ziegler is a young art student who becomes infatuated with charismatic archeologist Dr. Emeryk Quintillus. Only too late does she realize his true designs on her. He is obsessed with resurrecting Cleopatra and has retained the famed artist Gustav Klimt to render Gabriele as the Queen of the Nile, using ashes from Cleopatra’s mummy mixed with the paint. The result is a lifelike portrait emitting an aura of unholy evil . . .

Vienna, 2018

The Mortimer family has moved into Quintillus’s former home, Villa Dürnstein. In its basement they find an original Klimt masterpiece—a portrait of Cleopatra art scholars never knew existed. But that’s not all that resides within the villa’s vault. Nine-year-old Heidi Mortimer tells her parents that a strange man lives there.

Quintillus’s desire to be with Cleopatra transcends death. His spirit will not rest until he has brought her back from the netherworld. Even if he has to sacrifice the soul of a child . . .

Praise for Catherine Cavendish’s Wrath of the Ancients

“Cavendish has constructed such an elaborate plot—combined with painstaking research into Egyptian mythology—that the fantastical events taking place seem to literally ‘come alive’ on the pages before you.”

“Cavendish offers up an atmospheric gothic horror tale that effortlessly blends together history and the supernatural to create an unsettling horror story that will appeal to almost any horror fan.”

DAMNED BY THE ANCIENTS is Book 3 in the Nemesis of the Gods series, by Catherine Cavendish. In the first book, we’re introduced to Dr. Emeryk Quintillus and his obsession with the former Egyptian Queen, Cleopatra. His quest to bring her back to life to be “with him” for all time transcends the years, and even death, itself.

In this third book, Cavendish begins in the present time, with a new family–Ryan, Yvonne, and their nine-year-old daughter, Heidi, Mortimer–moving into Quintillus’ former home, Villa Durnstein. It doesn’t take long at all for the supernatural events that the fixated doctor set into motion to begin manifesting in front of the new tenants.

“. . . Reality has lost some of its meaning . . . “

Then we change scenes/time and revisit Vienna in 1908. Once again, we are given some more insight into what Dr. Quintillus actually did and another innocent who was tangled into his web of deceit. Each of these sections that we are shown (including the ones from the first two books in the series) begin to show us a more complete picture of the complexity of his design. The ramifications–and all the lives impacted–by this one man spreads outward over the course of the years in a ripple effect.

“. . . Some men don’t have to do anything before you know they are inherently evil . . . “

When the author brings us back to events in the present time, we have a much better picture of the entire history regarding Quintillus’ evil legacy.

“. . . Some things shouldn’t be meddled with.”

Overall, I fell in love with this historical fiction series that Cavendish has given us. While each book tells its own complete story, they also build upon the knowledge gleaned from their predecessors. The brilliance and the complexity of this obsessed doctor’s designs really comes full circle in this latest installment. Events that happened previously give us a whole new understanding and appreciation of the author’s skills as we are able to “connect” the events of both past and present.

“You take normality for granted . . . until nothing in your life is normal . . . “

This was more than a mere journey. I felt as if this were the final piece of a jigsaw puzzle that I’d been anticipating. Cavendish shows true talent in her weaving of different timelines, true history, and fiction. The “Nemesis of the Gods”series is a great testament to that.

Highly recommended!

About Catherine Cavendish


Hello, my name’s Catherine Cavendish and I write horror fiction – frequently with ghostly, supernatural, gothic and haunted house themes.

Out now- from Kensington-Lyrical – the third in a trilogy – DAMNED BY THE ANCIENTS – set in Egypt and Vienna and featuring the sinister Dr. Emeryk Quintillus whose obsession has stayed with him past the grave. This completes the NEMESIS OF THE GOODS trilogy which started with WRATH OF THE ANCIENTS, followed by WAKING THE ANCIENTS.

My novellas COLD REVENGE, MISS ABIGAIL’S ROOM, THE DEMONS OF CAMBIAN STREET, THE DEVIL INSIDE HER and THE SECOND WIFE have now been released in new editions by Crossroad Press.

My novels THE DEVIL’S SERENADE and SAVING GRACE DEVINE have also been released in new editions by Crossroad Press, as have my novel of the Lancashire Witches – THE PENDLE CURSE – and my novellas, LINDEN MANOR and DARK AVENGING ANGEL.

All are available from Amazon

I live with a long-suffering husband and a delightful black cat who has never forgotten that her species used to be worshipped in ancient Egypt. She sees no reason why that practice should not continue.

Our home is in a rambling building dating back to the mid 18th century, haunted by a friendly ghost, who announces her presence by footsteps, switching lights on and strange phenomena involving the washing machine and the TV.

When not slaving over a hot computer, I enjoy wandering around Neolithic stone circles and visiting old haunted houses.

You can find me on my blog:
and on Twitter:


I am an avid reader/reviewer and collector of books--primarily horror, supernatural, and supernatural-themed thrillers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *