Extra

October New and Upcoming Releases in Horror #2


Friday is here and so is our brand new list of newly released and upcoming releases in horror!

If you are an author with a 2019 upcoming horror release that you’d like us to feature in these posts, please leave your book link in the comments! Reader additions are always welcome too. We want to include all the new horror. Also, please note publishing dates change constantly so please kindly note any changes in the comments.



Available Now


SHALLOW WATERS Vol.3: A Flash Fiction Anthology, edited by Joe Mynhardt

Shallow Waters—where nothing stays buried.

With twenty-one dark tales diving beneath the surface of life, death, and the pain between them.

Shallow Waters is the official monthly flash fiction challenge hosted by the award-winning Crystal Lake Publishing. Every month a new challenge is posted online, with authors submitting via email. The best submissions are then posted on Crystal Lake’s Patreon page, where patrons read daily entries and vote for the winner. What you’ll find in these Shallow Waters anthologies include the most popular of our finalists.

Stay tuned for more volumes in this series, or find Crystal Lake Publishing on Patreon to enter or vote on future challenges.

In this volume…

  • This Halloween, the girl might just get more than she bargained for.
  • A gumball machine dispenses something far more sinister—and sweeter—than candy.
  • Lessons don’t always have to be taught in school.
  • You never know what you’ll find at the end of a dark hallway…
  • A serial killer reminisces over his last victim.
  • An Irish-American man come to terms with the legacy he leaves, thanks to the ancestral apparition that has haunted his family for centuries.
  • Some relationships leave scars that linger even beyond death.
  • When a Victorian actor’s career comes to a sudden end due to a flare-up of gout during an opening-night performance at the Delphi Theatre, he is left with only one chance to exact revenge on the inflexible house manager.
  • Stalked by shadows, a woman prowls the darkened halls of her longtime home.
  • Her body found mutilated down the tin mines and pursued by her step sister, she scratches her hooks against the wall as her classmates disappear.
  • Some curses are eternal and unbreakable.
  • Inertia—a property of matter in which something moves at a set speed and direction until made to change by another force.
  • After his dark soul took to the soil, evil plagued the roots of the family tree.
  • Houses aren’t the only places that can be haunted…
  • A man hunches over a workbench, a basket of tiny birds chirping nearby, wondering if the sky is still blue.
  • Charlie’s luck turns around when a storm rolls in, but things aren’t always as they seem when you find love on the sea.
  • In the center of a once-beautiful, now derelict forest, the trees aren’t the only things that are dead.
  • Sometimes, till death do us part is just not enough.

Proudly brought to you by Crystal Lake Publishing—Tales from the Darkest Depths.

Amazon | Goodreads


PERIPHERY, by Michael Winter

From the Corner of Your Eye to the Focus of Your Fear

Tampa Fire Rescue paramedic Andrew Tate thought he had put all of his father’s crazy nonsense behind him. Twenty years ago, John Tate had been the respected dean of biology at the University of Tampa, a coolly intellectual researcher and devoted family man. Certainly not the type prone to outbursts of hysterical dementia. Then one summer afternoon he returned home covered in blood, ranting about bizarre creatures hiding in plain sight and declaring his intention to move out in order to protect his wife and son from the horrors now stocking him. 

For the past two decades, the senior Tate has lived at the periphery of his son’s life, making only occasional contact while conducting what he calls “research” into his discovery. It’s an uneasy relationship, but Andrew is thankful his deranged father has chosen to remain at arm’s length.

All that changes, however, after Andrew is drawn into a hostage standoff. During the course of a tense negation with the captor, he beholds something that seems to validate his father’s claims: a living nightmare exposed for all to see and yet strangely camouflaged, both there and not there. It will be the first in a series of unwanted discoveries that will lead Andrew to the realization that a barely-glimpsed world exists at the edge of our awareness, a shadow ecosystem populated by terrifying denizens lurking in the light, awaiting the return of something vast and ancient and malevolent.

Amazon | Goodreads


Scheduled to Release October 15, 2019


CURIOUS TOYS, by Elizabeth Hand

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in “this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike.” (Sarah McCarry)

In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble.

Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses the shadows of the dark carnival attractions to conduct his crimes. When Pin sees a man enter the Hell Gate ride with a young girl, and emerge alone, she knows that something horrific has occurred. 

The crime will lead her to the iconic outsider artist Henry Darger, a brilliant but seemingly mad man. Together, the two navigate the seedy underbelly of a changing city to uncover a murderer few even know to look for.

Amazon | Goodreads


MIDNIGHT IN THE GRAVEYARD, ed. by Kenneth W. Cain

Midnight. Some call it the witching hour. Others call it the devil’s hour. Here in the graveyard, midnight is a very special time. It is a time when ghostly spirits are at their strongest, when the veil between our world and theirs is at its thinnest. Legend has it, that while most of the world is asleep, the lack of prayers allow the spirits to communicate under the cover of darkness, among the headstones, their whispers rustling in the leaves of the old oak trees. But if you’re here in the graveyard, you can tell yourself it’s just the wind, that the moonlight is playing tricks on your eyes, that it’s only the swirling mist you see. But when you hear the graveyard gate clang shut, the dead have something to say. Here are their stories…

Amazon | Goodreads


AMBER HOLLOW, by Edgar Swamp

On July 14, 1991, an isolated village in Northern Wisconsin is ground zero for an unprecedented, fiery tragedy. Of the community’s 600 residents, there are only five survivors. Detailed accounts by the victims contradict one another; the only link they have in common is a man named Anthony Guntram, who they allege is the primary suspect. Because he is presumably dead, this claim can’t be verified. Further inquiries expose a culture enshrouded in mystery. What are the survivors are hiding? Only the villagers know the secret of Amber Hollow, a place where sanity is checked at the town line, and the parameters of reality become blurred. An unconventional horror story by design, Edgar Swamp delivers an action-driven page-turner that will keep readers guessing until the calamitous ending.

Amazon | Goodreads


Scheduled to Release October 18, 2019


IN DREAMS WE ROT, by Betty Rocksteady

Fiction like a fever dream…

A voyeur suddenly becomes the one being watched, terrifying beasts are stitched together, strange new insects appear, ancient sex gods rise, and an island on the brink of madness falls apart.

Betty Rocksteady’s debut collection blends surrealism and horror, tearing apart tropes as words bleed and transform down unexpected avenues of nightmare logic. These twenty stories run the gamut from splatterpunk to somber. They’re hot and wet and nasty, guaranteed to leave you with an unspeakable sense of dread.

Amazon | Goodreads


CELESTIAL SEEPAGE, by Brian Fatah Steele

Harper didn’t want to leave the library to take the temporary position at the Historical Society. There was something unsettling about the place, something sinister. She had no idea her presence there was about to trigger the escape of monstrous entities from a higher dimension, ones imprisoned there by their own kind decades ago. 

Facing primordial horrors, Harper and her friends realize there have been alien gods in their midst all along, some closer than they ever could’ve believed. Together, they must stop a cataclysm that even gods can’t walk away from.

Brian Fatah Steele has written numerous published stories and titles in the cosmic horror, urban fantasy, and science fiction realms, receiving high praise for his unique blend of terror and strange. Celestial Seepage is no different in its attempt to unnerve you.

Amazon | Goodreads


Tune in next week for another round of recent releases! In the meantime, please share what you’re reading in the comments below.

Kimberly

I am an avid reader/reviewer and collector of books--primarily horror, supernatural, and supernatural-themed thrillers.

One Comment

  • Steven Arellano Rose

    Right now, I’m reading something kind of old but good, Stephen King’s collection Night Shift. For me, his earlier short works tend to be better written than his later work. And I just finished Jeff Vandermeer’s Annihilation and thought it was really good even though it was a little slow for me in parts.

    Celestial Sleepage and Midnight In the Graveyard seem like they can be a couple of good reads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *