• Extra,  Guest Post

    GUEST POST, by Doris V. Sutherland

    Genres: Bizarro, Dark Fiction, Extreme Horror, Fiction, Horror Here is the fourth in our series of five guest posts reviewing the 2019 Splatterpunk Awards’ Nominees. The content and opinions presented here are those of the author, and do not necessarily reflect the viewpoints of the Horror After Dark team. Welcome to the fourth in a five-part series reviewing each finalist for the 2019 Splatterpunk Awards. With the categories for short stories, novellas and single-author collections covered,  the next category on the agenda is Best Anthology… The Black Room Manuscripts Volume Four, edited by Tracy Fahey and J. R. Park The fourth and final installment of the Black Room Manuscripts anthology series boasts a total of…

  • Extra

    Late July & Early August New Horror Releases

    Friday is here and so is our brand new list of newly released and upcoming releases in horror! If you are an author with a 2019 upcoming horror release that you’d like us to feature in these posts, please leave your book link in the comments! Reader additions are always welcome too. We want to include all the new horror. Also, please note publishing dates change constantly so please kindly note any changes in the comments. AVAILABLE NOW: NOMAD, by Jamie Nash A dark sci-fi thriller in the vein of Alien or John Carpenter’s The Thing… She wakes up drowning, escapes from a watery canister into a deathtrap of fiery corridors and…

  • Extra

    July New Horror Releases #2

    Friday has finally arrived and we are here with a new list of upcoming releases in Horror to help you spend your money! If you are an author with a 2019 upcoming horror release that you’d like us to feature in these posts, please leave your book link in the comments! Reader additions are always welcome too. We want to include all the new horror. Also, please note publishing dates change constantly so please kindly note any changes in the comments. Available Now: INTIMATIONS OF DEATH, Felix Timmermans A boy’s mother lies upstairs seriously ill, and in every crash of thunder or hollow chime of the clock he seems to hear a…

  • Extra,  Guest Reviews

    GUEST POST by Doris V. Sutherland

    This is the first of a series of five guest posts reviewing the 2019 Splatterpunk Awards’ Nominees. The content and opinions presented here are those of the author, and do not necessarily reflect the viewpoints of the Horror After Dark team. 2019 Splatterpunk Award Reviews: Best Short Story Welcome to the first in a series of posts that will cover every single nominee for the 2019 Splatterpunk Awards! Due to be presented at KillerCon Austin on Saturday August 17, the awards celebrate horror fiction of the more extreme variety. To kick things off, let us take a look at the six contenders for the title of Best Short Story… “Virtue of…

  • Extra

    {Review} Creed by James Herbert

    by James Herbert Published by Pan Books on 1990 Genres: Fiction, Horror, Supernatural, Thriller Pages: 200 Format: eBook Buy on Amazon Goodreads This book was a rocking good time! Any fan of 80’s style horror would dig this novel. We have a paparazzo named Creed that is generally disliked. He is greedy, selfish and obnoxious. Thing is, you are rooting for him anyway. Mr. Herbert created a deeply flawed, but likable protagonist. The best part, next to the 80’s pulp feel, is the humor. Herbert somehow manages to have you laughing, sometimes even in the midst of dire situations. Then there’s a few inside jokes; at one point Creed spots…