• Book Reviews

    {Review} NINTH HOUSE, by Leigh Bardugo

    Published by Flatiron Books Genres: Crime, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Mystery, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Hardcover The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo, a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League elite Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. In fact, by age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} SAWKILL GIRLS, by Claire Legrand

    Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Women Sleuths, Young Adult Format: Hardcover From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} PLAGUE OF GULLS, by Stephen Gregory

    PLAGUE OF GULLS by Stephen Gregory Published by PS Publishing on July 2018 Genres: Dark Fiction, Fiction, Horror, Noir, Psychological Horror, Suspense, Thriller, Weird Tales Pages: 258 Format: Hardcover Stephen Gregory uses the medieval castle and town walls of Caernarfon as the backdrop for his latest dark and disturbing novel. When David Kewish suffers an excruciating accident on his eighteenth birthday, the whole of his summer is blighted... and when a fledgling black-backed gull comes tapping at his front door in the middle of the night, and the town is besieged by flocks of gulls, it is this bird which fuels the tension of the story and increases the friction…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} OVERNIGHT, by Philip Fracassi

    OVERNIGHT by Philip Fracassi Published by Unnerving on July 16, 2018 Genres: Crime, Dark Fiction, Fiction, Horror, Psychological Horror, Suspense, Thriller Pages: 44 Format: eBook Buy on Amazon When a mysterious stalker arrives on a movie set in the middle of the night and offers the overnight security guard easy cash to procure him souvenirs from a starlet's trailer, a cascade of events is set into motion that ends in depravity, scandal, death, and revenge. OVERNIGHT opens a world into the dark backdoors of the film industry in which every-day grunts get paid to protect the world-famous, and degenerates will do anything to open a vein into their most twisted…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} THE CABIN AT THE END OF THE WORLD, by Paul Tremblay

    I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.THE CABIN AT THE END OF THE WORLD by Paul Tremblay Published by William Morrow on June 26, 2018 Genres: Dark Fiction, Fiction, Horror, Psychological Horror, Suspense, Thrillers & Suspense Pages: 293 Format: Hardcover, eBook Buy on Amazon “A tremendous book―thought-provoking and terrifying, with tension that winds up like a chain. The Cabin at the End of the World is Tremblay’s personal best. It’s that good.” — Stephen King The Bram Stoker Award-winning author of A Head Full of Ghosts adds an inventive…