• Book Reviews

    {Review} THE TWISTED ONES, by T. Kingfisher

    Published by Gallery \ Saga Publishing Genres: Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Lovecraftian, Noir, Paranormal, Supernatural, Suspense, Weird Tales Format: Paperback When a young woman clears out her deceased grandmother’s home in rural North Carolina, she finds long-hidden secrets about a strange colony of beings in the woods in this chilling novel that reads like The Blair Witch Project meets The Andy Griffith Show. When Mouse’s dad asks her to clean out her dead grandmother’s house, she says yes. After all, how bad could it be? Answer: pretty bad. Grandma was a hoarder, and her house is stuffed with useless rubbish. That would be horrific enough, but there’s more—Mouse…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} DARKDAWN (Book 3 of the Nevernight Chronicle), by Jay Kristoff

    Published by St. Martin's Press Genres: Crime, Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Law & Crime, Noir, Occult & Supernatural, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Hardcover The epic conclusion to the internationally bestselling Nevernight Chronicle from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff. The greatest games in Godsgrave’s history have ended with the most audacious murders in the history of the Itreyan Republic. Mia Corvere, gladiatii, escaped slave and infamous assassin, is on the run. Pursued by Blades of the Red Church and soldiers of the Luminatii legion, she may never escape the City of Bridges and Bones alive. Her mentor Mercurio is now in the clutches of…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} SAWKILL GIRLS, by Claire Legrand

    Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Women Sleuths, Young Adult Format: Hardcover From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} I AM NOT YOUR FINAL GIRL, by Claire C. Holland

    Published by GlassPoet Press Genres: Dark Fiction, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Psychological Horror, Suspense Format: Paperback “There is nothing else in this world / like realizing / you’re going to live / and not being sure / you can.” From Claire C. Holland, a timely collection of poetry that follows the final girl of slasher cinema – the girl who survives until the end – on a journey of retribution and reclamation. From the white picket fences of 1970s Haddonfield to the apocalyptic end of the world, Holland confronts the role of women in relation to subjects including feminism, sexuality, violence, and healing in the world of Trump and…

  • Without Condition by Sonora Taylor Cover
    Book Reviews,  New Releases

    Without Condition by Sonora Taylor

    Without Condition by Sonora Taylor on February 12, 2019 Genres: Dark Fiction, Girls & Women Buy on Amazon Goodreads Cara Vineyard lives a quiet life in rural North Carolina. She works for an emerging brewery, drives her truck late at night, and lives with her mother on a former pumpkin farm. Her mother is proud of her and keeps a wall displaying all of Cara’s accomplishments. Cara isn’t so much proud as she is bored. She’s revitalized when she meets Jackson Price, a pharmacist in Raleigh. Every day they spend together, she falls for him a little more — which in turn makes her life more complicated. When Cara goes…