• Book Reviews

    {Review} ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD, by Kendare Blake

    Published by Tor Teen Genres: Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Supernatural, Suspense, witch, Young Adult Format: Paperback Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.  So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay. Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track,…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} THREE DARK CROWNS, by Kendare Blake

    Published by Harper Teen Genres: Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller, Young Adult Format: Hardcover New York Times Bestseller * New York Public Library Best Book of 2016 * Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016 * Kirkus Best Book of the Year Fans of acclaimed author Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood will devour Three Dark Crowns, the first book in a dark and inventive fantasy series about three sisters who must fight to the death to become queen.  In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} WICKED SAINTS, by Emily A. Duncan

    Published by Wednesday Books Genres: Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Gothic, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller, Young Adult Format: Hardcover “Prepare for a snow-frosted, blood-drenched fairy tale where the monsters steal your heart and love ends up being the nightmare.” – Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves and The Star-Touched Queen A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself. A prince in danger must decide who to trust. A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.  Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war. In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} SAWKILL GIRLS, by Claire Legrand

    Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Women Sleuths, Young Adult Format: Hardcover From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} MARY: The Summoning (Bloody Mary, Book 1), by Hillary Monahan

    Genres: Dark Fiction, Fiction, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Supernatural, Suspense, Young Adult Format: eBook There is a right way and a wrong way to summon her. Jess had done the research. Success requires precision: a dark room, a mirror, a candle, salt, and four teenage girls. Each of them–Jess, Shauna, Kitty, and Anna–must link hands, follow the rules . . . and never let go. A thrilling fear spins around the room the first time Jess calls her name: “Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. BLOODY MARY.” A ripple of terror follows when a shadowy silhouette emerges through the fog, a specter trapped behind the mirror. Once is not enough, though–at…