• Book Reviews

    {Review} WICKED SAINTS, by Emily A. Duncan

    Published by Wednesday Books Genres: Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Gothic, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller, Young Adult Format: Hardcover “Prepare for a snow-frosted, blood-drenched fairy tale where the monsters steal your heart and love ends up being the nightmare.” – Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves and The Star-Touched Queen A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself. A prince in danger must decide who to trust. A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.  Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war. In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} DARKDAWN (Book 3 of the Nevernight Chronicle), by Jay Kristoff

    Published by St. Martin's Press Genres: Crime, Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Law & Crime, Noir, Occult & Supernatural, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Hardcover The epic conclusion to the internationally bestselling Nevernight Chronicle from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff. The greatest games in Godsgrave’s history have ended with the most audacious murders in the history of the Itreyan Republic. Mia Corvere, gladiatii, escaped slave and infamous assassin, is on the run. Pursued by Blades of the Red Church and soldiers of the Luminatii legion, she may never escape the City of Bridges and Bones alive. Her mentor Mercurio is now in the clutches of…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} NINTH HOUSE, by Leigh Bardugo

    Published by Flatiron Books Genres: Crime, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Mystery, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Hardcover The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo, a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League elite Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. In fact, by age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} SAWKILL GIRLS, by Claire Legrand

    Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Women Sleuths, Young Adult Format: Hardcover From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} GODSGRAVE (Book 2 of the Nevernight Chronicle), by Jay Kristoff

    Published by St. Martin's Press Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Noir, Occult & Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Paperback The second thrilling installment of the award-winning Nevernight Chronicle, from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff. In a land where three suns almost never set, a ruthless assassin continues her quest for vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family. Mia Corvere has found her place among the Blades of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but many in the Red Church hierarchy think she’s far from earned it. Plying her bloody trade in a backwater of the Republic, she’s no closer to ending the men who…