• Book Reviews

    {Review} GHOST MINE, by Hunter Shea

    Published by Flame Tree Press Genres: Dark Fiction, Fiction, Ghost, Historical Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Occult & Supernatural, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller, Westerm Format: Hardcover “Shea layers on the ever mounting sense of dread with a master craftsman’s skill, with some excellent tension building scenes.” – Ginger Nuts of Horror 1st time with full trade distribution in all formats. Previously titled Hell Hole. Deep in a Wyoming mine, hell awaits. Nat Blackburn is given an offer he can’t refuse by President Teddy Roosevelt. Tales of gold in the abandoned mining town of Hecla abound. The only problem – those who go seeking their fortune never return. Along with his constant companion, Teta,…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} DARKDAWN (Book 3 of the Nevernight Chronicle), by Jay Kristoff

    Published by St. Martin's Press Genres: Crime, Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Law & Crime, Noir, Occult & Supernatural, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Hardcover The epic conclusion to the internationally bestselling Nevernight Chronicle from New York Times bestselling author Jay Kristoff. The greatest games in Godsgrave’s history have ended with the most audacious murders in the history of the Itreyan Republic. Mia Corvere, gladiatii, escaped slave and infamous assassin, is on the run. Pursued by Blades of the Red Church and soldiers of the Luminatii legion, she may never escape the City of Bridges and Bones alive. Her mentor Mercurio is now in the clutches of…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} MIDNIGHT IN THE GRAVEYARD, edited by Kenneth W. Cain

    Published by Silver Shamrock Publishing Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fiction, Fiction, Ghost, Haunted House, Horror, Mystery, Noir, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense Format: eBook Midnight. Some call it the witching hour. Others call it the devil’s hour. Here in the graveyard, midnight is a very special time. It is a time when ghostly spirits are at their strongest, when the veil between our world and theirs is at its thinnest. Legend has it, that while most of the world is asleep, the lack of prayers allow the spirits to communicate under the cover of darkness, among the headstones, their whispers rustling in the leaves of the old…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} NINTH HOUSE, by Leigh Bardugo

    Published by Flatiron Books Genres: Crime, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Mystery, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Thriller Format: Hardcover The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo, a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League elite Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug-dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. In fact, by age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s…

  • Book Reviews

    {Review} SAWKILL GIRLS, by Claire Legrand

    Genres: Crime/Serial Killer, Dark Fantasy, Dark Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Girls & Women, Horror, Occult & Supernatural, Paranormal, Psychological Horror, Supernatural, Suspense, Women Sleuths, Young Adult Format: Hardcover From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things. Who are the Sawkill Girls? Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or…